Country flag for Benin
Capital: Porto Novo
Language: French
Population: 8439000
Area: 112622 km2
Currency: CFA franc (XOF)
Country Map for Benin

Benin, officially the Republic of Benin, is a country in Western Africa, formerly known as Dahomey (until 1975). It borders Togo to the west, Nigeria to the east and Burkina Faso and Niger to the north; its short coastline to the south leads to the Bight of Benin. Its capital is Porto Novo, but the seat of government is Cotonou.

Journal entries about Benin

Galleries for Benin