Congo (Brazzaville)

Country flag for Congo (Brazzaville)
Capital: Brazzaville
Language: French
Population: 3,999,000
Area: 342,000 km2
Currency: Central African CFA franc (XAF)
Country Map for Congo (Brazzaville)

The Republic of the Congo (French: République du Congo; Kongo: Repubilika ya Kongo; Lingala: Republiki ya Kongó), also known as Congo-Brazzaville or the Congo, is a country in Central Africa. It is bordered by Gabon, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Angola and the Gulf of Guinea.

The republic is a former French colony. Upon independence in 1960, the former French region of Middle Congo became the Republic of the Congo. After a quarter century of Marxism, Congo completed its transition into a multi-party democracy in 1992. However, a brief civil war in 1997 ended in the restoration of former Marxist President Denis Sassou Nguesso to power.

Journal entries about Congo (Brazzaville)

Bashing our heads against the Angolan bureaucratic wall repeatedly...

Galleries for Congo (Brazzaville)