Country flag for Gabon
Capital: Libreville
Language: French
Population: 1,454,867
Area: 267,668 km2
Currency: CFA franc (XAF)
Country Map for Gabon

The Gabonese Republic, or Gabon, is a country in west central Africa sharing borders with Equatorial Guinea, Cameroon, Republic of the Congo and the Gulf of Guinea. The capital and largest city is Libreville. Since its independence from France on August 17, 1960, the Republic has been ruled by only two autocratic presidents. In the early 1990s, Gabon introduced a multi party system and a new democratic constitution that allowed for a more transparent electoral process and reformed many governmental institutions. A small population (less than two million), abundant natural resources, and foreign private investment have helped make Gabon one of the most prosperous countries in the region, with the highest HDI in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Journal entries about Gabon

There are no journal entries about Gabon yet

Galleries for Gabon