Country flag for Mali
Capital: Bamako
Language: French
Population: 11995402
Area: 1240192 km2
Currency: CFA franc (XOF)
Country Map for Mali

Mali, officially the Republic of Mali (French: République du Mali), is a landlocked nation in Western Africa. It is the seventh largest country in Africa. It borders Algeria on the north, Niger on the east, Burkina Faso and the Côte d'Ivoire on the south, Guinea on the south-west, and Senegal and Mauritania on the west. Its straight borders on the north stretch into the centre of the Sahara, while the country's south, where the majority of inhabitants live, features the Niger and Senegal rivers. Formerly French Sudan, the country is named after the Mali Empire. The name of the country comes from the Bambara word for hippopotamus (with the animal appearing on the 5 franc coin), the name of its capital city, Bamako comes from the Bamana word meaning "crocodile's back".

Journal entries about Mali

The Malian Sahel and all it's fascinating culuture

Galleries for Mali