Country flag for Senegal
Capital: Dakar
Language: Wolof, French
Population: 11658000
Area: 196723 km2
Currency: CFA franc (XOF)
Country Map for Senegal

Senegal (French: le Sénégal), officially the Republic of Senegal, is a country south of the Sénégal River in western Africa. Senegal is bounded by the Atlantic Ocean to the west, Mauritania to the north, Mali to the east, and Guinea and Guinea-Bissau to the south. The Republic of Gambia lies almost entirely within Senegal, surrounded on the north, east and south; from its western coast, Gambia's territory follows the Gambia River more than 300 kilometres (186 miles) inland. Dakar is the capital city of Senegal, located on the Cape Verde Peninsula on the country's Atlantic coast.

Journal entries about Senegal

Bad roads, corrupt officials and beautiful countryside

Galleries for Senegal