Country flag for Morocco
Capital: Rabat
Language: Arabic, Berber, French
Population: 33757175
Area: 446550 km2
Currency: Moroccan dirham (MAD)
Country Map for Morocco

Morocco, officially the Kingdom of Morocco, is a country in North Africa with a population of 33,241,259. It has a coast on the Atlantic Ocean that reaches past the Strait of Gibraltar into the Mediterranean Sea. Morocco has international borders with Algeria to the east, Spain to the north (a water border through the Strait and land borders with two small Spanish autonomous cities, Ceuta and Melilla), and Mauritania to the south.

Morocco is the only African country that is not currently a member of the African Union. However, it is a member of the Arab League, Arab Maghreb Union, the Francophonie, Organization of the Islamic Conference, Mediterranean Dialogue group, and Group of 77, and is a major non-NATO ally of the United States.

Journal entries about Morocco

Marrakech, the desert and the Western Sahara
Rumblin' and trundlin' down the coast of Morocco

Galleries for Morocco