Country flag for Spain
Capital: Madrid
Language: Spanish
Population: 45116894
Area: 504030 km2
Currency: Euro
Country Map for Spain

Spain, officially the Kingdom of Spain, is a country located in southwestern Europe on the Iberian Peninsula. The Spanish mainland is bordered to the south and east almost entirely by the Mediterranean Sea (except for a small land boundary with Gibraltar); to the north by France, Andorra, and the Bay of Biscay; and to the west by the Atlantic Ocean and Portugal. Spanish territory also includes the Balearic Islands in the Mediterranean, the Canary Islands in the Atlantic Ocean off the African coast, and two autonomous cities in North Africa that border Morocco. With an area of 504,030 km², Spain is the second largest country in Western Europe (behind France).

Spain is a constitutional monarchy organised as a parliamentary democracy, and has been a member of the European Union since 1986. It is a developed country with the ninth largest economy in the world and fifth largest in the EU, based on nominal GDP.

Journal entries about Spain

The start of our journey
Our first blog entry - written in Marbella, Southern Spain just before we leave Europe and hit Africa either this afternoon or tomorrow morning.

Galleries for Spain