Country flag for Namibia
Capital: Windhoek
Language: English
Population: 2,031,000
Area: 825,418 km2
Currency: Namibian dollar (NAD)
Country Map for Namibia

Namibia, officially the Republic of Namibia, is a country in southern Africa on the Atlantic coast. It shares borders with Angola and Zambia to the north, Botswana to the east, and South Africa to the south. It gained independence from South Africa in 1990 and its capital city is Windhoek (German: Windhuk). Namibia is a member state of the United Nations (UN), the Southern African Development Community (SADC), the African Union (AU), and the Commonwealth of Nations.

Journal entries about Namibia

A country of great contrasts, stunning wild bush, endless desert, raging waterfalls and above all, the most friendly people

Galleries for Namibia