The Gambia

Country flag for The Gambia
Capital: Banjul
Language: English
Population: 1517000
Area: 10380 km2
Currency: Dalasi (GMD)
Country Map for The Gambia

The Gambia, officially the Republic of The Gambia, commonly known as Gambia, is a country in Western Africa. It is the smallest country on the African continental mainland and is bordered to the north, east, and south by Senegal, and has a small coast on the Atlantic Ocean in the west. The River Gambia flows through the centre of the country and empties into the Atlantic Ocean. On 18 February 1965 The Gambia became independent from the British Empire. Banjul is its capital.

Journal entries about The Gambia

Galleries for The Gambia